NEARLY ARRESTED FOR STEALING A CAR/ CASI DETENIDA POR ROBAR UN COCHE

I was chatting with my good friend Martine the other day, about this blog and the book coming out soon. My brain is gradually de-frazzling from the awful hot summer we have had and I am moving along with it now.

If and when you read the book, you will see that Martine is the friend that brought me here in the first place many years ago.

Any of you who have been coming here for a while may remember that in those days when you rented a small car it was always a Fiat Panda. I actually love those little cars and would have one now. Economical, reliable, easy to maintain and repair.

We were here for a months holiday over Christmas. You will see in the book that was a very significant time as it was when I discovered that I was pregnant. At the time of this story I had not yet found out.

We had parked up outside VillaMartin, a local Centre with many bars, restaurants and a supermarket, to buy something, I don´´´´t remember what.

We came out and got into our car, Martine was driving. As we set off I noticed a pair of sunglasses on the dash and I picked them up, tried them on, and opened the glove compartment to put them in.

“The previous renter must had left these” I said.

In the glove compartment I was delighted to find a packet of cigarettes, almost full.

As I say, I didn´t know yet that I was pregnant and I was a smoker then. Also I was a student and money was tight, so to find an almost full packet of cigarettes was great news.

I lit one up as we drove along, and put the sunglasses back on.

I actually cannot remember what made us finally realise, but suddenly we did. We were in the wrong car!!

We came to a screeching halt. Our key had not only opened the door it had started the engine. We looked over to see our actual car parked expectantly where we had left it, a few cars down from this one.

They were identical Fiat Pandas, only the registration was different.

We hurriedly parked and I spat out the cigarette and returned the sunglasses to the dash. I just had a vision of the real owner approaching to find me sat in his/her car smoking his/her cigarettes and wearing his/ her sunglasses.

We did not park it where we had found it as this place was now occupied, so I often wonder if this poor guy/woman wondered how the hell the car had moved itself from where it was parked.

And one cigarette missing from the packet haha

Thank you for taking the time to read this, if you are a Spanish or English student yourself you may find the following links to my social media useful:

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/elprincipecentre/
Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/elprincipecentre/
Twitter: @PrincipeCentre
YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm38MRBMVXrV6JblhmQ7xOg

The book “Confessions of a Spanish Teacher” (unexpurgated) will be out for sale before the New Year, pre-orders are 10 euros, please contact vicki.riley@elprincipecentre.com if you would like to order a copy. After release it will be 15 euros.

Published by

confessionsofaspanishteacher

I was born in Manchester UK, lived briefly in Reading UK, and ended up living here in Spain 20 years ago. I am a Spanish Teacher and writer, I have published 4 Levels of learning Spanish , Break The Language Barrier, which are available on Amazon. Also a dual language children's book "Princess Tia`s Great Adventure/ La Aventura Grande de la Princesa Tia". My blog is an anecdotal account of my experiences over 20 years as a Spanish Teacher and Interpreter.

Leave a comment